Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

Convert AT&T iPad to a Verizon iPad?

Have the original iPad (not iPad2) with wi-fi and 3G. Bought it before Verizon sold iPads. Is there a way to convert my AT&T iPad to make it work on the Verizon system/plan? I'm not a techie, so please keep answers easy to understand.

iPad, iOS 4.3.3

Posted on Jul 22, 2011 11:06 PM

Question marked as Best reply

Posted on Jul 23, 2011 12:32 AM

AT&T and Verizon use different technology for their networks. You need to purchase an iPad specifically for Verizon. One for AT&T cannot be converted.

15 replies

Jul 23, 2011 5:59 AM in response to patriciafromtioga

You can't convert the iPad itself. However, you can buy a MiFi device from Verizon that will let you use your iPad on Verizon's cellular network. It's a device about half as thick as a deck of cards that connects to the cellular network and generates a WiFi hotspot. They work very well and they work on Verizon's 4G LTE network which means that you'll get faster speeds than if you bought a Verizon iPad.

Jul 23, 2011 12:48 PM in response to Matthew Smith

I was hoping there was a SIM card (is that the right term) or something like that that could be substituted in my iPad to "convert" it from an AT&T iPad to a Verizon iPad. However, it seems from your answer that I'm out of luck with that idea. I know these 2 cell phone providers do not have the same types of phones (I think my Verizon phone is CDMA), so I guess it's sort of the same incompatibility issue for my iPad.

Thanks anyway!

Jul 23, 2011 1:11 PM in response to IdrisSeabright

My husband recently upgraded his Verizon cell phone to an iPhone 4, and we were able to figure out how to set it up as a WiFi hotspot. I was hoping to find a way to use 3G to access the internet without having to have access to his iPhone hot spot.