Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

Which MAC better suited for Aperture ?

I've a budget around 1900-2000 euro (more or less the same price in US dollars for the US market)

The choice would be either one of the new iMac or a MacBookPro ...

In both cases there is some level of choice whether to invest money on:

1) either go for the model with more performing video card

2) either the model with more performing CPU or more RAM or (even) a solid-state disk

Just to make it clear: I'm not a pro, I've been able to use Aperture, till now, on a 2007 MacBook

and I didn't feel so bad as regards managing previews, while I'd like some more horsepower

while editing single images (as soon as the list of adjustments applied gets long, the spinning

beach ball takes home on my screen and I have to wait more and more time !)

... The time needed to zoom in at 100% is annoying to ...

So the question is: are these operations (adjustments, zooming into the image) demanding more

on CPU, or on GPU or ... what else ?

To make an example: would a MacBookPro be performing more fast than an iMac

(I don't care of the smaller screen size, since I'm used to adjust images at 100% zoom) ?

Is it worth going to the MacBookPro with Radeon HD 6750M and 1GB memory, or would

a Radeon HD 6490M with 256MB perform as well, investing the saved money in more

RAM ?

Speaking of photo applications I'd naively suppose it's better to go with a more performing GPU,

but probably most of the GPU power is reserved for film encoding/decoding, not for photo adjustments ...

Thank you for your help

Posted on Jul 26, 2011 2:17 AM

21 replies

Jul 26, 2011 7:26 AM in response to oraziosimone

Aperture 3 has several factors which are necessary to make it run at top speed, both hardware and software related: