Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

Devices are not showing up in Xcode's Organizer

Is there something I need to do to enable "Devices" to appear under "Projects and Sources"? I've plugged both my iPhone and my iPad into my Mac and neither one is showing up in Xcode, yet iTunes can sync with them fine. I'm new to Xcode, so perhaps there is something I haven't initialized.

Relevant info:

Running Xcode 3.2, OSX 10.6.8, iOS 4.3.4 & 4.3.3.

It's raining and 75°F. Tomorrow will be sunny with highs in the 90s.

I'm wearing pants.

User uploaded file

Posted on Jul 27, 2011 4:24 PM

15 replies

Jul 27, 2011 5:05 PM in response to The Laughing Imp

By the numbers....

Is your device connected directly to the computer, using the supplied cable...not thru a hub?

When running System Profiler/USB, can you see the device when connected?

Is the device present in iTunes?

Have you restarted the computer, with the device connected and then tried?

What version Xcode, exactly?

I'm not wearing pants.

Jul 28, 2011 7:26 PM in response to K T

1) Yes.

2) Yes.

3) Yes. As I typed originally, I can sync just fine with iTunes. I can even sync blindfolded with one hand tied behind my back, but only on adventurous days.

4) Yes.

5) I had typed Xcode 3.2 which I thought was pretty exact, but perhaps you were wanting:

Component versions

Xcode IDE: 1610.0

Xcode Core: 1608.0

ToolSupport: 1591.0

6) Today I am not wearing pants. I hope that won't throw off the symmetry.

Just for fun & giggles: I have rebooted, reinstalled Xcode, uninstalled Xcode using the nifty unix uninstaller, reinstalled Xcode, rerebooted, and not once was Xcode able to see my iPad or iPhone, despite the fact, as I stated before, that I can sync just fine. Here is the syncie proof you have been craving:

User uploaded file

After all that, I still see this:

User uploaded file