Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

Why is Delete greyed out in the Edit menu? (track selected in regular playlist)

Hi. Starting today, Delete is permanently greyed out in the Edit menu in iTunes. This is with tracks selected in the Music library or in any playlist (not just Smart Playlists). I manage tracks daily, and this just started today. I upgraded to 10.4 about a week back so it was fine for a while. Immediately before the problem manifested itself, I selected "Always Show Artwork" from the View menu (which is available when you're in Album List mode), something I've never done before. But that might be totally unreleated.

Hitting the Delete key doesn't work either (actually that's my preferred method). However "Cut" and Cmd-X do work, as does the Delete command in the contextual menu. So I have a workaround.

Quitting and re-entering iTunes didn't help, nor did de-selecting "Always Show Artwork".

iMac 27, Mac OS X (10.6.8), Up-to-date, lots of RAM and disk

Posted on Jul 27, 2011 10:14 PM

Question marked as Best reply

Posted on Jul 28, 2011 6:01 PM

Hi, I have also just upgraded to itunes 10.4 and my delete function on the edit menu is also grey. I can't delete individual songs or playlists that way. I tried the delete button on the keyboard when I saw your message and that does work however.

11 replies

Aug 21, 2011 10:53 AM in response to Richard Tench

Hiya, I have the same problem since itunes update to 10. please can you tell me where to find instructions for the keys i need to press to delete songs? i dont know which is 'cut' and 'cmd-x' thanks very much!

Aug 21, 2011 11:03 AM in response to Community User