9 Replies Latest reply: Jul 31, 2011 1:49 AM by softwater Branched to a new discussion.
softwater Level 5 (5,370 points)

I have seen it said in a few thread, here and elswhere that


"Want to shut off versioning? Go into your Time Machine advanced preferences and shut off version lock"


Could someone please explain to me how this shuts off Versions? As I see it, unchecking this box enables permanent overwriting of your file with new Versions. Doesn't clicking the box means you can prevent new Versions? However, the minimum setting for this is 1 Day. So you only prevent Versions being stored if you create a file the day before you want to play with it...


Am I missing something here? Is there a way to turn of Versions? And if this is it, could someone please explain the mechanism of how that works. It doesn't make sense to me. Thx



Time Machine Preferences > Options:


MacBook Pro 2.53GHz Intel Core 2 Duo, Mac OS X (10.7), 4GB 1067 MHz DDR3