Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

iMovie '11 > iDVD (AVCHD / DV)

Hi All,

This is my first question on the Forum, and I'm new to iMovie so bear with me! 🙂

Setup

iMac 3GHz i3, 4GB RAM, 500GB HDD (200GB free)

OS X 10.6.8

iMovie '11 9.0.4

iDVD 7.1.2

QT 10 (128)

(also have a copy of iMovie 6 HD, but not installed)

Camcorder: Canon Legria HF R26 (1920x1080 fps: 25p PAL 24Mbps)

Playback: 1080p HDTV via upscaling DVD

(Also have old miniDV JVC camcorder with tapes to import)

I'm trying to get the best possible quality onto a DVD with my iMac. I appreciate I will not get HD as DVD is SD.

Project length 32 mins.

So.... What I'm trying so far...

Method A

1. Import into iMovie '11 at 'full - original size'
  2. Create project, edited etc
  3. Share > iDVD (iDVD prefs High Performance as length <60 mins)

Result - horrible - very pixelated, and 'low res'

Method B

1. as above
  2. as above
  3. Export > QT (H.264, 25fps, Key Frames: Auto, 1920x1080)
  4. iDVD > import video - browse for QT file (9.74GB)

Result - err not sure think i messed this one up.

Method C

1. as above
  2. iDVD > import video - browse for 'raw' import file (30GB)

Result (on very short clip) - very clear and good resolution.

Basically looking for advice / comments on what the very best method of importing / exporting AVCHD would be to preserve as much quality as possible on to DVD. This is for our wedding video for giving to family on DVD.

A second question but less important at the moment is all my old miniDV tapes - should i use iMovie 6 for these?

Sorry for the long post!!

Thanks for any help anyone can offer!

Regards

Graham 🙂

iMac, Mac OS X (10.6.8)

Posted on Jul 31, 2011 1:56 AM

14 replies

Jul 31, 2011 9:21 AM in response to grahamlaws

Hi !

I always (... I mean, before Lion OS) use this method:

1) Import the clips into iMove in Original Size

2) Make your project