Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

A possible solution for some Lion speed/CPU/heat/fan issues...

...for those backing up over WiFi to a Time Capsule. If you hae a different configuration, these instructions will not help.

Lion seems to be much more picky about its Spotlight indexes than previous versions of MacOS X. Lion is much quicker to flag a drive's Spotlight index as bad and require the drive to be reindexed. I have had a couple of situations where I've locked up my machine (I'm a developer and do some unusual things). I've had to manually power off the machine to regain control. When that happens, Spotlight wants to reindex all of my drives. For the internal drive, that is not a big deal - an hour or two of a pokey Lion and then it is done. For Time Machine, it is a serious issue.

Spotlight reindexing is a normal part of Time Machine. After Time Machine runs for a couple of minutes, you should see mds processes kick off for a little bit. Then your Time Machine should unmount itself and life will go back to normal. If, however, you have had to do something drastic like power-cycle your machine, Spotlight in Lion may want to rebuild the index for your entire Time Machine backup. If you are connected over WiFi, this process will probably take longer than the evolutionary cycle of the current species of human beings.