Newsroom Update

Beginning in May, a special Today at Apple series titled “Made for Business” will offer small business owners and entrepreneurs free opportunities to learn how Apple products and services can support their growth and success. Learn more >

Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

Apple Network and Entertainment System: Need Help Please

So to start off I am an entry level network technician/administrator with experience in OS's like Win, OS X, and Linux.

What I'm trying to do is rebuild my relatives' home network and entertainment system to be up to par with today's awesome entertainment digital standards.

They have a crap linksys router, mac mini dual core, brother MFC 8460N printer, dlink extender, denon AVR 3311IC, Samsung Blu Ray, XBox360, DVR, and Epson Projector. These are all the things that I'm dealing with in the network.

There are two floors. The first floor has the printer, modem, and router which then feeds to the second floor where their media room has the projector, blu ray, denon AVR, XBox, and DVR.

My goal is to make the perfect network.

First off they hate switching from one network to the other when changing floors. To fix this we're going to get an Airport Extreme BS and Airport Express extender to create a WDS network for seamless transitioning while both access points are a single network.

0) For WDS to work does each access point need to be wired by Ethernet to the base station to add to the network or do they wirelessly mesh together to repeat each other? Also what is the difference between remote and repeater?

1) Is this a valid solution? Can this be done?