Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

Formatting my External Hard drive

My External Hard drive is set in NTFS format (as I have used Windows before migrating to Mac). I am trying to figure out how to format my External Hard drive to the format that Mac OS X can read and write. I'm trying to use my External Hard drive as my Time Machine and need to find a way to format my external hard drive so that it can be readable and writeable. Any solutions? Thanks.

MacBook Pro, Mac OS X (10.7), MBP 13 inch 2011

Posted on Aug 4, 2011 8:34 PM

Question marked as Best reply

Posted on Aug 4, 2011 8:36 PM

Disk Utility will do it. Mac OS extended works well.

You're a level 4, and you haven't formatted a drive yet??? Wow!😮

13 replies

Aug 4, 2011 8:48 PM in response to FP_iMacAddict!

Just because i'm a level 4 doesn't mean anything. I've been mostly on iphone and ipod part of the discussion. This is my first time owning a Mac OS X, prior to this, i've been mostly on Windows. So excuse me for not doing much on Mac part, but I'm still learning as I on my mac. Thank, that did the job. 🙂

Message was edited by: Kwopau

Aug 4, 2011 8:53 PM in response to Kwopau

Just did this myself for a 1 TB WD block drive that has Windows and Linux (non-macosx) data.

DiskUtility is how it worked for me, after saving data from the two partitions.

The key idea here is to convet the extenral drive from a MasterBootRecord (MBR) partiionmap to a GUID partion map.

Online documentation for GUID (http://www.ibm.com/developerworks/linux/library/l-gpt/index.html is one) tells how GUID creates a baseline 4-part partion map to create partitions for compatibility with non-GUID-compliant systems while having the other partitions for newer OS.

In short I did this:

• Saved my data from the existing partitions