Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

Locked documents in Pages

I opened several old Pages documents tonight in Lion. I was surprised to see that the title bar indicated that the document(s) were locked. Clicking on the word Locked I found I could unlock them. The documents were saved in Dropbox. I'm puzzled why they were marked locked. I don't recall locking them. Is this some sort of new default?

Why would the system lock files without my request for it to do so?

Overall, I like the idea of locking documents so avoid accidentally modifying files I didn't intend to modify. Is this a feature of Versions? If so, what are the things I should know about this feature. One of my major issues with Apple software is the lack of any overview of new features to make it easy to adopt the new version of the software and stay out of trouble with the changes. They should have people with a customer view of the world be writing things to explain the features of a product, the things to watch for, and maintain a FAQ as questions arise and get answered.

iMAC Early 2009, Mac OS X (10.6.7)

Posted on Aug 4, 2011 9:42 PM

18 replies

Aug 15, 2011 8:52 PM in response to bkitchin

I find that older files in iWork and also other applications are now locked. It does seem odd that Lion seems to do it without my action. This seems very un Mac-like for the system to start doing what it pleases with my files, and making me take extra unnecessary steps to be able to save them.

I find some new "features" in Lion, such as this one and the disappearance of "Save As", is very irritating.

Sep 7, 2011 9:13 PM in response to rkaufmann87

I find the lack of documentation and explanation quite irritating. These things are not 'intuitively obvious' to many of us. In fact, as the old joke goes, things called intuitively obvious almost never are.