Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

I used apple remote app interferes with IR on tv?

Last night I used the remote app on an iphone for the first time with an apple TV (recent purchase).

Now the regular TV remotes won't work with the TV. The remotes themselves are fine - they work with our other TV. But there is no response from the TV when I try to use the remote. I tried resetting the TV, but can't without a remote!

I'm not technical, so bear with my terminology - but I read that the IR from the apple remote app can cause interference?

The regular apple remote (the one that came with the apple TV) never caused a problem.

It only started when I used the remote app with a new iPhone4.

Appreciate any info. I have searched for a similar problem but haven't found it.

AppleTV 2

Posted on Aug 18, 2011 9:36 PM

Question marked as Best reply

Posted on Aug 19, 2011 3:43 AM

Welcome to the Apple Community.

For the avoidance of doubt which appliance and remote do not work, you said your TV but I'm wondering if you mean your Apple TV.

The remote App uses wifi to control the Apple TV so it cannot cause interference with IR despite what you might have read.

8 replies

Aug 19, 2011 7:56 AM in response to Winston Churchill

hi - let's see -

The apple TV works - but our regular TV (sony bravia) no longer responds to any remote.

I read two different bits of infomation - one said that no interference can occur because apple remote uses wifi.

However the Apple site said to use your apple remote and other remotes separately becuase of IR interference.

So....I'm still a bit confused.

Aug 19, 2011 8:03 AM in response to sayhimikey

from the web --

"About the Apple Remote

The Apple Remote operates on an infrared (IR)-based transmitter. If it has an unobstructed line-of-sight to the receiver, the Apple Remote can function at distances of up to 30 feet (about 9 meters)."