Skip navigation

Firewall

2455 Views 10 Replies Latest reply: Aug 19, 2012 10:30 AM by defilm RSS
AndyTNZ Calculating status...
Currently Being Moderated
Sep 4, 2011 6:56 PM

I've just bought an iMac with OSX Lion and noticed that be default the firewall is off.

I'm new to OSX (but not iPhones, iPads & iPods) and with a PC background I'm very nervous at not having a software firewall and anti-virus and anti-malware programmes running. I'm becoming "relaxed" on the latter two, but the OSX firewall still bothers me!

I've read a lot of threads on various support forums and there's mixed views, for and against, but can I ask here whether......

1. I'm taking a real (as opposed to theoretical) risk if I leave the firewall off?
  2. there's a downside to having the firewall on - other than configuration?
  3. configuration of the firewall is problematical?

The iMac is hard wired to a netgear router via ethernet and I use the internet a lot.

iMac 27" : iPad : iPhone 4 : iPods
  • Tony T1 Level 6 Level 6 (8,115 points)
    Sep 4, 2011 7:04 PM (in response to AndyTNZ)

Turn it on

• Barry Hemphill Level 7 Level 7 (33,065 points)
    Sep 4, 2011 7:09 PM (in response to AndyTNZ)

Hello Andy:

Activate the built-in OS X firewall.  For some reason, the default is off.  There is no downside to activating the firewall.  As an aside, your router probably has a firewall as well - but that is no problem.

anti-virus and anti-malware programmes running

There are NO viruses that affect a Mac running OS X - NONE.  A/V software, at a minimum, wastes resources and frequently causes serious problems.

Barry

iMac, Mac OS X (10.7.1), 4 GB memory,DSL
  • Linc Davis Level 10 Level 10 (107,540 points)
    Sep 4, 2011 7:29 PM (in response to AndyTNZ)