Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

iPhoto library - managed or referenced

Hi,

I am new to OS X and I am still looking for the best way to use build-in applications before I start looking elsewhere. Next up: photos.

I do have substantial library of images from different sources. Generally, I like sorting and managing them myself. In the past (Windows era) I used picasa to quickly view, sort, and delete photos and Photoshop to edit them. So I ran a quick test:

1. copy smaller directory of images to my Mac (/Users/user/Pictures/folder_1)

2. import folder to iPhoto

3. View

It looked OK so I tried the second. Soon I realized, that all images are duplicated in the iPhoto folder. That brought me here where I learnt about "managed" and "referenced" libraries. It seems, that folks here argue against using "referenced" approached. I think by now I sort see the differences, but I am not sure if I really understand the consequences. So, what would experts here recommend if I'd like to be able to do following:

1. picture organization (in iPhoto and on the hard drive)

2. the hard drive organization comes from my current back-up practices (I use rsync):

a. copy/update folders to home file server

b. burn one or more folders to DVD

c. file server makes additional copy to different HD (sort of like mirroring but not quite in real time)

3. make sure I keep originals (jpeg, tiffs, and most often raw files)

4. in future I might want to switch to Lightroom or Aperture to catalog/organize images

What bugs me about "managed" approach that I have no control over HD organization, which might be ok, if everything else works.

So to my outstanding questions:

=======================

I. I am not sure how to properly back-up my images. Is there a way in iPhoto to back up everything? Or in another words, what would be a proper way to back up images from iPhoto?