Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

Macbook battery from Amazon

I'm need to buy a battery for my 13" inch 2006-07 model macbook. But I don't want to sepnd $160 plus tax. I'm a student and need to spend all the cash I have on my textbooks for now. SoI found some macbook batteries on Amazon for $60 which makes me a bit suspicious. Has anyone tried this? Any feedbacks or suggestions on this?

http://www.amazon.ca/Superb-Choice-Battery-Macbook-Rechargeable/dp/B004J70FJ6/re f=sr_1_2?ie=UTF8&qid=1315579154&sr=8-2

MacBook 2GHz, Mac OS X (10.5.8)

Posted on Sep 9, 2011 7:45 AM

9 replies

Sep 9, 2011 3:58 PM in response to frederic1943

@frederic1943 -- I just bought a replacement battery from one of the eBay vendors. Things seem to be fine....except that my macbook simply doesn't recognize that there is a battery. Thus, even though the battery is there and (apparently) charged, the macbook immediately goes to sleep if I detach the power cord/magsafe adapter. Any experience like that with any aftermarket batteries? Suggestions for a re-set or re-calibrate?

Thanks!

Sep 9, 2011 5:15 PM in response to frederic1943

Here it is, including the other power info. Definitely showing NO battery whatsoever! Thing is, I can now, after around 5-6 hours of charging of the new battery, unplug the power adapter without the computer going to sleep immediately. So, perhaps the new battery is building up power to the point of at least working. I'm thinking the solution may be to charge overnight and try it all on battery power in the morning. I could run the new battery down at that point and see if the serves as a proper calibration. But, so far, it's not looking very promising.

Battery Information:

Charge Information:

Charge Remaining (mAh): 0

Fully Charged: No

Charging: No

Full Charge Capacity (mAh): 0

Health Information:

Cycle Count: 0

Battery Installed: No

Amperage (mA): 0

Voltage (mV): 0