Apple Event: May 7th at 7 am PT

Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

You can't open the application NotificationExec because PowerPC applications are no longer supported

I have Lion OS X 10.7 on my MacBook Pro 15'' and I've tried to install an application for an external Maxtor hard drive.

But it seems to be compatable only with previous Operating Systems because now every 5 seconds I get the popup
"You can't open the application NotificationExec because PowerPC applications are no longer supported".

I have deleted all the applications of the external hard drive from the Applications folder, and from the trash as well.
But it doesn't help because the message is continuing to pop-up.

Please help me somehow.

Mac Pro

Posted on Sep 9, 2011 1:47 PM

21 replies

Sep 9, 2011 1:55 PM in response to Carolyn Samit

Thank you, I understood this after reading some forums. I admit that I am new with Mac and many things are still a question mark for me.
At this point I do not wish to use this external hard drive with the macbook (it is not THAT necessary for me).
What I wish is to uninstall everything belonging to the external hard drive in order to calm down this popping (annoying) message. I thought that removing the application from the Application folder would solve out the problem, but it doesn't.

How can I stop this message from popping out? Is there SOMETHING SOMEWHERE that hasn't been uninstalled??

Thank you for your help, I do really need it.

Sep 10, 2011 6:11 AM in response to nastassja10

I had already formatted the external Maxtor external hard drive but it didn't help because the problem came when after formatting I tried to install an application (belonging to Maxtor) to the MacBook. The application was meant for an operating system previous to Lion.

The solution is to remove everything belonging to Maxtor from your Mac.