Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

Aperture RAW questions

So, I just took a peek at my system and there is only 2GB of pictures and 150 of "other". I'm thinking that the "other" are my RAW files (since I only started shooting RAW on a regular basis 6 months ago). My macbook pro has been lagging a bit lately and I have a feeling these RAW files may have somehting to do with it.

My first question is where can I find these RAW files. I've seen it before, but forget how to navigate to it.

My second question is once I find these files, would it be safe to back them all up on an external, and then delete them from my macbooks' harddrive? Or is that just stupid?

Thanks.

Macbook Pro

Posted on Sep 10, 2011 12:48 PM

5 replies

Sep 10, 2011 12:53 PM in response to Mr. D90

Running a Managed or a Referenced Library?

If Managed, they're in the Aperture Library package. Referenced? They are wherever you put them.

You can relocate the masters using the Relocate command in the File menu.

, would it be safe to back them all up on an external, and then delete them from my macbooks' harddrive?

No that would not be safe. For a start if you copy them to external and then delete them from the internal you have no back up. A Back up is a copy on another disk, at least.

Regards

TD

Sep 10, 2011 1:36 PM in response to Mr. D90

1. How big and how full is your system drive? In Finder, select your drive and run "File→Get Info". Capacity and Available space are listed in the "General" section at the top of the Info window.

2. How big is your Aperture Library? In Finder, select your Library file and run "File→Get Info". The size will be reported at the top right of the Info window. You may have to wait a couple of minutes for Finder to calculate the size.