Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

Fcpx to motion 5 workflow, best approach?

My pre-FCPX way was:

* edit my video in FCP

* use Send to Motion for the pieces that need additional f/x and animations

I understand the lack of Rountripping now. I cannot use the workflow of importing the original clip into motion because I only want to add animations and f/x to my final edit.

My questions: (and I am still a video newbie)

* Should I export my entire FCPX-edited movie and then bring it into Motion 5 to add the animations/composites/f/x and have Motion be the final step?

* If so, is there a specific export setting that I should use?

* OR... Can I export certain pieces of my in-progress FCPX movie into Motion 5, then export them back out and bring them BACK into FCPX? (seems extremely cumbersome!) and if so, am I losing information with each generation of export?

* I guess my overall question is HOW do you go back and forth now between Motion 5 and FCPx with the least amount of degradation? Assume that I do not want to use the new rigging/publishing features because I am doing one-off custom animations and motion-matching over video clips, as opposed to creating templates, transitions, etc.

And again, I am new to this so I don't know or understand all of the terminology related to intermediate codecs, prores etc.

Posted on Sep 19, 2011 11:44 AM

Question marked as Best reply

Posted on Sep 20, 2011 10:21 AM

Katherine Sierra wrote:

My pre-FCPX way was:

* edit my video in FCP

I understand the lack of Rountripping now. I cannot use the workflow of importing the original clip into motion because I only want to add animations and f/x to my final edit.

* Should I export my entire FCPX-edited movie and then bring it into Motion 5 to add the animations/composites/f/x and have Motion be the final step?

This would be the least diseriable way. You can do this but you raelly want the finish to be in FCPX.