Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

Hi,

I'm fairly new to Lion Server but am pretty good when it comes to Active Directory setups in windows. Unfortunately as far as I can tell, Open Directory and Active Directory don't bear a great deal of resemblance to each other.

My problem is this:

I have create a home network/server setup on my brand spanking new iMac. I've set up a netowrk user account so that I can store all the user data of my MBP on the iMac so it's part of the iMac's Time Machine backup, as well as the security of knowing my data if safe if my laptop ever gets lifted etc etc. So far the setup is working perfectly while I remain in the local network (binded to server.local), but as soon as I go remote with the laptop I can't bind to the Open Directory (using System Preferences > Users & Groups > Login Options > Network Server Account)

The iMac is running 10.7.2 Server and the MBP 10.7.2 Client.

As far as I can tell, the iMac computer name is solid (no spaces) and the external server.domain.com is pointing back to my static IP address and I have forwarded ports 4500, 1701 and 500 at the router. Not sure if this is related (I'm assuming it is) but I also can't connect to the VPN remotely. I've tested the ports using yougetsignal.com and they are open.

The network account has full administrator privilages, the user is added to Remote Management and Remote Login access lists on the server and like I said everything works fine internally.

DCHP and DNS are setup on the server and I believe working correctly and the firewall is off.

I'm sure it's something basic that I've missed but can't for the life of me figure it out. Any thoughts/help?

iMac, Mac OS X (10.7.2)

Posted on Oct 15, 2011 6:38 PM

13 replies

Oct 15, 2011 9:50 PM in response to wildlyons

I'll preface this with the fact that I am in no way an expert on Portable Home Directories...