Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

How can I connect 5.1 speakers to Macbook Pro 13 bought Summer 2011

Hi all
I am very new to the mac world. Basically I need to know how I can connect my Macbook Pro 13" to a 5/1 set of speakers.

Do I need something to plug to mini display port?

Thanks

MacBook Pro, Mac OS X (10.7.2)

Posted on Oct 17, 2011 1:55 PM

Question marked as Best reply

Posted on Jan 8, 2013 4:09 PM

There's another and cheaper way than a Home theater system.

What you need to do is get a small piece of hardware called Digital Audio Converter.

What this baby does basically is treat the digital sound that comes from your Mac and convert it to analog 5.1 signal that you can use with your speakers:

User uploaded file

You can find it online almost anywhere!

You will also need to get a toslink cable to connect your Mac to this "Black Box".

After this, you're ready to go!

I hope I've helped.

16 replies
Question marked as Best reply

Jan 8, 2013 4:09 PM in response to saham

There's another and cheaper way than a Home theater system.

What you need to do is get a small piece of hardware called Digital Audio Converter.

What this baby does basically is treat the digital sound that comes from your Mac and convert it to analog 5.1 signal that you can use with your speakers:

User uploaded file

You can find it online almost anywhere!

You will also need to get a toslink cable to connect your Mac to this "Black Box".

After this, you're ready to go!

I hope I've helped.

Oct 17, 2011 2:13 PM in response to saham

Well this is a involved subject.

First off it depends upon what sort of 5.1 system you have, is it a computer type system or a home stereo surround sound system?

1: If it's a computer type system,