Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

All mounted volumes erased installing Xcode 4 under Lion

I installed Lion, then installed Xcode 4. I did this TWICE (fool that I am). The first time I lost my entire system disk. The second time I lost my entire system disk, my Time Machine backup on a Time Capsule, and a hundred Gbytes of photos and other media on my ReadyNAS raid box. I had no clue that such a bug was even possible. Today I found the same issue that occurred with Snow Leopard, occurring from last March to last June:

All mounted volumes erased when system...: Apple Support Communities

Oh, My God! I had no clue I could endanger storage in other machines on my network just by installing an app on my iMac. This is my first time here, so I haven't yet discoverred how to report bugs, but PLEASE, don't let this go by. This has cost me 10 days of work and untold heartache. Thank heaven I didn't have more volumes mounted before the install.

iMac, Mac OS X (10.7.2), Installing latest Xcode 4.2

Posted on Oct 17, 2011 5:04 PM

5 replies

Oct 17, 2011 11:56 PM in response to paulfromsantacruz

If you want to report this issue to Apple's engineering, send a bug report or an enhancement request via its Bug Reporter system. To do this, register as an Apple Developer—it's free and available for all Mac users and gets you a look at some development software. Since you already have an Apple username/ID, use that. Once a member, go to Apple BugReporter and file your bug report or enhancement request. You'll get a response and a follow-up number; thus, starting a dialog with engineering.

Oct 18, 2011 9:48 AM in response to woodmeister50