Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

How To Create A Boot Disk

I am somewhat new to Mac and am trying to create some sort of boot disk. I am having OS/hard drive problems so I ran a "Verify Disk" ("Disk Repair" was unavailable), and it returned the message that the disk must be repaired, and that I should start up my computer from another disk then run a "Repair Disk" on my hard drive. Can I not insert a blank DVD and burn a boot disk to it, like one would to create a Windows boot disk? If not, how can I boot from another disk, so I can run a "Repair Disk" on my hard drive? (I do not have an external drive with sufficient space to hold the Snow Leopard OS files and I am reading that others are having problems booting from such drives).

Posted on Oct 29, 2011 8:53 PM

Question marked as Best reply

Posted on Oct 29, 2011 8:55 PM

You could try booting from the Snow Leopard install CD if you still have it, and you might be able to run "Repair Disk" from the Utilities available in the install disc.

I've never done it before so I wouldn't know, but it's worth a shot if you still have the install cd.

5 replies

Oct 29, 2011 9:03 PM in response to Noble Seven

Wrong respond to ... should be the original poster ... sorry

My backup strategy and the reasons why:

Two external hard disks, both 2x my startup disk, both self powered:

• One has CarbonCopyClone (free downloadable from the net) makes a bit-by-bit clone of the startup disk, including all of the low-level formatting that allows it to be bootable. This I update once per week, because I like to to have my system relatively quiet to get a good snapshot.
  • One TimeMachine. This is file-level, and is NOT bootable. But it backs up one file at a time, so is lower "profile" and can run run while I am working.