Skip navigation

Safari won't open pdf's

6243 Views 13 Replies Latest reply: Sep 30, 2013 4:04 PM by niteowl RSS
kwright2713 Calculating status...
Currently Being Moderated
Nov 1, 2011 6:29 AM

Hi, when I click any pdf on safari, it won't open the pdf it just brings up a dark grey screen and doesn't load. I am running Safari 5.1.1 and OSX Lion. I have removed the Adobe plugin from Library and put Adobe Reader in the trash, however, I am still getting the same problem.

• jayafel Calculating status...
    Nov 1, 2011 7:18 AM (in response to kwright2713)

I am having the same problem.  I clicked the "missing plugin" link, downloaded the adobe file it wanted me to, and it still won't work. 

This has been going on for awhile.  I am about to go back to Firefox or maybe Chrome.  As a graduate student, I download quite a bit of pdfs...

• jayafel Level 1 Level 1 (0 points)
    Nov 1, 2011 7:21 AM (in response to kwright2713)

i tried that, and it wouldn't work for me. 

• jayafel Level 1 Level 1 (0 points)
    Nov 1, 2011 8:14 AM (in response to kwright2713)

i think so, some pdfs will open with preview now but some (like the EBSCO databases) won't open at all.

• Ancient_One Level 1 Level 1 (30 points)
    Nov 1, 2011 9:23 AM (in response to kwright2713)

Another possibility to to use the Schubert PDF plug in. It has been around for years and works great.

http://www.schubert-it.com/pluginpdf/

I do not know if it will work in Lion but it does work in Snow Leopard.

Steve H

• Carolyn Samit Level 10 Level 10 (84,160 points)
    Nov 1, 2011 11:33 AM (in response to kwright2713)
    I am running Safari 5.1.1 and OSX Lion

Removing that plugin won't help with Adobe / Lion.

Read here >  Known Issues | Adobe products on Mac OS 10.7 Lion

• Gerd Rösser Calculating status...
    Sep 23, 2012 1:52 AM (in response to kwright2713)

Thanks,

I had the same problem and deleting everything containing pdf in its name.