Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

How about an iOS firewall app?

It seems like it would be a standard thing to have for iOS. I think it would be great if it were added to the Settings and be similar to the Notifications section. It could just be a list of all of the installed apps with a ”Allow/Deny” option for each.

It might seem pointless for most people, but I am a musician that is slightly obsessed with keeping my song files, projects, etc, private and secure.

iPad

Posted on Nov 1, 2011 8:50 PM

20 replies

Nov 1, 2011 8:53 PM in response to JoeMusic

Not possible for an app to have any effect on the system as a whole within iOS because of the sandboxed nature of iOS apps. Any "firewalling" would effect only activities within that app itself.

Unless you're guarding the nation's nuclear secrets, I wouldn't worry about the security of your data on an iOS device as long as you keep physical control of the device itself.

If you want to suggest further security measures to Apple, here you go:

http://www.apple.com/support/feedback/

Nov 1, 2011 9:16 PM in response to John Hammer1

I just wouldn’t want any sort of hacker to get access to my songs, files, etc when doing something else such as using Safari. I also wouldn't want an app that I use to write songs to be accessing any type of network, or for that app and/or it's files, to be accessed somehow, if any of that is possible. Unless it has a feature such as uploading a song to a site, exporting through a network, etc, but not until I would be ready to use those features.

If any sort of hacking or anything is possible, or will be possible, others might be interested in a firewall as well, such as businesses and people that have important documents saved such as bills, bank information, etc.

Nov 1, 2011 9:20 PM in response to JoeMusic