Apple Event: May 7th at 7 am PT

Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

Outlook 2011 stuttering frequently

I have a macbook pro 2Ghz Quad-Core i7 with 8GB RAM.

I installed a OWC Mercury 6G SSD 240GB (50% full).

I've been using this for a few months now. Overall the system is blazing fast, with zero problems. Well...except for Microsoft that is...

The only application giving me problems is Microsoft Outlook 2011. It is constantly stuttering. This means I'll be typing an email, then suddenly i look up at screen and realize nothing typed, or its garbled text, or the text is out of order. Its because for some reason Outlook keeps stuttering in and out randomly with these mini freezes.

Its the only application doing it, nothing else is a problem.

Any ideas on how to resolve this annoying problem?

MacBook Pro, Mac OS X (10.7.2), 8GB RAM, 240GB SSD

Posted on Nov 8, 2011 7:29 PM

6 replies

Jan 19, 2013 8:18 AM in response to MattRStewart

I had a similar problem when I upgraded to Mountain Lion. I would intermittently get the dreaded spinning beach ball of death (SBBoD). It would last about 10 seconds, and occur every few minutes or so. I found a solution that seem to work, here:

http://answers.microsoft.com/en-us/mac/forum/macoffice2011-macoutlook/outlook-20 11-mac-frequent-hangsspinning-beach-ball/acfa8f52-a1ba-4fd9-b52d-2edc04927803?pa ge=3&tm=1358611923314

While there were a lot of proposed solutions given, this is the one that seems to have worked for me: