Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

Airport express not recognized by airport utility

I have been printing using the airport express for a couple of months. Suddenly the printer would not respond. I went to the airport utility and had it scan for a wireless device and it could not locate my airport express. It is plugged in and the light is steady green as always. The utlity did not suggest a firmware update.

iMac, Mac OS X (10.6.8)

Posted on Nov 11, 2011 1:48 PM

47 replies

Nov 11, 2011 1:55 PM in response to Jan Andrews

Often, a complete power cycle will solve a problem like this.

Power everything down on the network.....all devices....order is not important.

Wait a few minutes.

Start the modem first and let it run 1-2 minutes alone.

Start the next device connected to the modem the same way

Keep starting devices one at a time the same way until everything is powered back up.

Check the network for proper operation.

Nov 25, 2011 10:47 PM in response to Jan Andrews

I wish I had a solution but it's wierd, I have two Airport Express units (version ones) in two different rooms and they have worked great for ages. Sending music from iTunes either stright from the PC, or using Apple Remote from my iPod Touch or music straight from the iPod Touch. This worked exactly as it was supposed to, even sending two both stereos at the same time (through Airplay and Apple Express).

Yet, this week, both units stopped working inexplicably at the same time. I've tried everything, resets, reboots, reconfiguring, repairing Bonjour, nothing has worked. On both the expres units, the lights are green and (at times) I can see them in iTunes or on the iPod, yet the music will not stream.

Incidentally, I have 2 Apple TV units and there are no problems.

Signed, 'Dumbfunded'

Dec 3, 2011 12:57 PM in response to Bob Timmons