Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

Pages & Numbers vs Word & Excel

I've seen many threads on this subject and wanted to add my own observations, which may help someone trying to make a decision on which suite they may need. Personally I use both since they have different strengths and weaknesses. I haven't worked much with Keynote or PowerPoint so I'll skip them.

I work in a WinXP eviroment so Office is what I use 8-5, mostly Excel and Access. At home, I'm a freelance photographer and custom print designer. I've done sales flyers, restaurant menus, advertising, and custom graphics. I've done a lot of custom marketing materials for my work and always fire up my Macbook, showing off what a Mac can do better than any Windows software we have.

iWork is predominantly a typesetting suite. If the end result is to be printed, then iWork really has the better tool set. Pages is easier to work with than Word for working with text boxes, images, backgrounds, and imbedded spreadsheet tables. I find it more intuitive and the tools make more sense, and it's a true WYSIWYG from sceen to printer. Numbers is easier to work with than Excel, again for printed output. Tables and graphs can be moved around to create a more flowing presentation. I also love versions... being able to go back to a previous version is a huge timesaver if a particular layout is not working out. Another plus to iWork is Pages and Numbers for iOS at $9.95 each. I can sync files to the cloud and have access to them on my iPhone anywhere anytime.