Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

Installing Sleepwatcher for an AppleScript...

I have managed to install Sleepwatcher successfully.... I think. If I go into the terminal and do a man sleepwatcher, it'll pull up the dialog for sleepwatcher. So I assume I've got it installed correctly. Where I am stuck is pointing it to run my AppleScript named WakeDialogueForReciepts. I have looked and looked and keep getting stuck. Nothing I seem to do is working. So! Can someone give me very simple instructions to make this run? I have no bash experience really.

MacBook Pro, Mac OS X (10.7.2)

Posted on Nov 20, 2011 6:37 PM

12 replies

Nov 20, 2011 9:39 PM in response to chef855

It would help a lot if you described some of what you'd done to date - might help us point you in the right direction.

Ultimately, SleepWatcher depends on some UNIX familiarity. Once installed it will look for a file in your home directory called '.sleep'. This should be a shell script that contains the commands you want to run on sleep (or a corresponding .wakeup file for commands to do on wake - it's not clear where you want your script to go.

Beyond that, these files need to be shell scripts, not AppleScripts. You can invoke your AppleScript a number of ways, depending on how the script is saved.

If your script is saved as a simple .scpt file then the easiest way is to add an osascript command to your .sleep/.wakeup file which just needs the path to the file:

#! /bin/bash

osascript /path/to/WakeDialogueForReciepts.scpt

Note that this will require both the full path to the file, and the .scpt filename extension that's usually hidden in the Finder.

This might all be known, and tried, but since you don't say what you've done so far it's impossible to tell.

Jan 25, 2012 10:37 AM in response to chef855

I did mine this way. The following is my '.wakeup' file code for SLEEPWATCHER.

The '.wakeup' file is in my directory ~/