Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

Aperture 3 and Remote Library Management

I'm a photographer and often travel internationally. Having experienced data loss before, I'm trying to remove this factor altogether by using a Mac Mini Server that I can connect to while on the road. I have Lion Server installed, but not sure if that's necessary for what I'd like to do. I'd love to hear some feedback regarding this if anyone has experience in this area. My workflow is 1. Shoot 2. Transfer Project Home 3. Process images later. What I'd like to do:

- Send Aperture projects over the internet to my Mac Mini

- Add the projects to Aperture for backup

My Mac Mini setup:

- 2011 Mac Mini | 2.3GHz i5 | 2GB RAM | 500GB

- 2TB Mirrored RAID (hardware)

- External 3.5" SATA sled for offsite vault option

- iCloud Account with Back To My Mac *enabled*

My best guess says the easiest way to do this is to 'Connect As...' to initiate the transfer of the Aperture 3 project to the desktop. Once it's on the desktop, use 'Share Screen...' to drag this project from the desktop into the Aperture library. Because the Aperture 3 library resides on the external RAID-1 I won't have to update a vault at regular intervals, however I do have the external SATA sled to vault to for triple redundancy if necessary. Is this the most effecient procedure for updating remotely?

Thanks in advance for your time!

Graham | grahamclarkphoto.com

Posted on Nov 24, 2011 6:20 AM

6 replies

Nov 24, 2011 12:05 PM in response to Psilocybe

Hallo Graham,

that is a tricky question you have posted. The best way to do what you want will depend on the circumstances you will find when you are travelling, as well as on the data rate you require.

How big are your projects? Hundreds of huge RAW images or only a selected few?