Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

iTunes wifi Sync stopped working

It's been since I upgraded my iPad 2 and iPhone 4 to 5.0.1 that I cannot wifi sync my devices.

I have a 2006 White MacBook with OS X 10.6.8, both iDevices upgraded to 5.0.1, last itunes version. My router is a linksys WRT54GL with the latest original firmware. Wifi security is WPA2 personal, TKIP+AES. OSX firewall is set to off. I am an IT engineer.

I have searched over net and looked for possible solutions here, so these are the procedures I tried:

1. restarting my mac, iDevices, and router
  2. updating firmware on my linksys router to the latest available
  3. turned off iphone while trying to see if itunes detects the ipad
  4. renew the dhcp lease on the ipad, and macbook
  5. set a static IP both for mac and ipad
  6. disconnect permanently the ipad from the router's wifi, then reconnect to it typing the password
  7. switch off both ipad and mac wifi.
  8. Remote app IS indeed working to control iTunes
  9. disable router's multicast filter: when I did this, my roommate, who has a win7 pc and an ipad2, was able to see its ipad in itunes, and he successfully synced
  10. disable router firewall
  11. create a custom wifi network with my macbook and connect only the ipad to it
  12. changing wifi channel
  13. set up port forwarding rules for TCP:123, 3689, UDP:123, 5353 to my mac static dhcp ip address

I'm running out of creativity... This problem must rely on apple side, since my roommate can sync wirelessly.

And since his ipad is working, there must be something wrong with itunes for mac, or in the way ipads interact with Macs.

The wifi sync DID work while on iOS 5.0.0, it all started after upgrading.

In any case I will not restore any of my devices, since it is not a problem caused by me.

Please Apple, fix this! Let me know if you need any logs.

Thanks,

Riccardo

Posted on Nov 28, 2011 1:19 AM

8 replies