Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

Should I upgrade to Lion?

Each time I get ready to take the plunge and upgrade to Lion, I read the posts and see all the problems folks are having with Lion and I change my mind! It seems like a lot of people have reinstalled snow leopard. Should I upgrade? I'm not a developer nor do I have expert computer abilities and knowledge. I use my computer for everyday work such as accessing mail, the web, iTunes, play games etc. Advice please. thanks.

Kelly

Posted on Dec 1, 2011 8:44 AM

Question marked as Best reply

Posted on Dec 1, 2011 8:59 AM

No doubt other users will contribute their opinions, but I'd like to set a bit of perspective for you. These forums are intended for people to come here and post their problems, so by nature what you're going to see will indeed be problems. The many thousands of Lion owners who are having no troubles have little reason to post to a technical support bulletin board, so just reading here will give you a skewed perspective on the issues. Quoting another regular contributor to the Discussions, "Trying to judge [a product] by this forum is like trying to judge the health of a community by looking at the hospital ER". Lion works fine for me and doubtless for thousands of other satisfied users.

As to whether you should upgrade to Lion, that's really a question only you can answer. You need to look at the new features offered in Lion and decide whether they are sufficiently desirable to you to justify the upgrade and the usual "settling" time common for any major OS upgrade, or if there are applications that require Lion that you wish to run.

If not, then my general advice is "if it ain't broke, don't fix it", meaning that if you aren't compelled to Lion for some reason and are happy as things are, there's little reason to upgrade at this time.

Regards.

11 replies
Question marked as Best reply