Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

Aperture 3, RAW vs JPEG. I give up...

Hi All,

I am not a professional photographer, but an enthusiast. I have been trying to understand why a raw file and a JPEG would create such a different result in Aperture. Below is an example of a random shot that I just took, RAW on the right, JPEG on the left. The JPEG version is exactly how I expected it to look, but the RAW has this weird yellowy/green pale theme to it (frankly the kid looks kinda ill) and you can see the worse definition on the flowers in the background. I use a 5D MARKII and I am running Aperture 3.2.1.

User uploaded file

I know the difference is not that huge, but it has been bugging me for a long time now. I prefer to shoot in RAW, but for the moment that just means I never the image that I want, so I shoot in JPEG+RAW. Any ideas on how to manage this?

Aperture 3, Mac OS X (10.7.2)

Posted on Dec 5, 2011 11:00 AM

Question marked as Best reply

Posted on Dec 5, 2011 11:15 AM

You're screen shots didn't make it into the post.

But to answer you question the reason the images appear different is because they are different. The JPG had the camera settings applied to it in the camera, the RAW is the image as it was, the camera settings have no affect on it.

Think of an extreme example, shooting an image with the camera set to Black & White. The JPG will be B&W while the RAW image will appear in color in Aperture. Why? Because a RAW image contains all the information in the image without being modified by the camera settings.

19 replies
Question marked as Best reply

Dec 5, 2011 11:15 AM in response to PashaT

You're screen shots didn't make it into the post.

But to answer you question the reason the images appear different is because they are different. The JPG had the camera settings applied to it in the camera, the RAW is the image as it was, the camera settings have no affect on it.