Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

How do I network with windows peer to peer

iMac, Mac OS X (10.7.2)

Posted on Dec 13, 2011 8:18 AM

7 replies

Dec 13, 2011 10:30 AM in response to rkaufmann87

I'm afraid you don't understand the meaning of "peer to peer". It has nothing to do with having a router. If you do not have a domain server, your network is peer to peer whether you are using a router or not. I have a router and have windows and mac machines connected to the router. I find that connecting from windows machines to the mac is flakey and inconsistent.

I have set up windows file sharing on the mac (OSX 10.7.2) sharing a limited # of folders. When connecting from a windows machines, I get one of the 2 following scenarios.

1) I am not challenged for userid or password and I can see everything on the mac with full priviledges (as if everything is shared and I am an Admin.

2) I get challanged for userid and password. No matter what I enter for user ID and password, the challenge fails and I cannot connect.

The first circumstance occurs if the mac is booted after the windows machine. The second when the mac is booted first.

My concern is that it is a pain to remember to boot the win machine first in order to get connected and secondly that the connection is totally insecure, not recognizing the sharing that was set up on the mac.

Dec 14, 2011 7:41 AM in response to rkaufmann87

My apologoies if I insulted you with my previous remark.