Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

G3 Lombard to wireless?

I've dusted off my old PowerBook G3 (Lombard) running the original OS 8.6

I want to be able to connect wirelessly to the internet.

Suggestions on how to do this -- memory and OS upgrades?

One suggestion I received was to use a PCI card, which meant upgrading the OS to 10.3. Is this upgrade from 8.6 to 10.3 possible?

Other suggestions or routes to take to make this change?

Here are the specs that I pulled off the system profiler (I'm a rookie, so if there's more info that is helpful let me know.)

Disk Cache 7.98MB

Virtual memory 321 MB

Built-in memory 320 MB

Backside L2 cache 512K

Machine ID 406

Machine Speed 333 MHz

kind regards,

PowerBook, Mac OS 8.6 or Earlier, Lombard

Posted on Dec 14, 2011 8:56 AM

4 replies

Dec 14, 2011 9:16 AM in response to CeleryRoot

Please forgive this slightly flippant reply - I'm sure the techs will be along any minute with the nut and bolt answer.

However my response would be - why would you bother? There will be so little you can accomplish even if you do get connected. I am a man for a project myself but this is analagous to trying to take a bi-plane into space!

Good luck anyway.

Dec 16, 2011 11:33 AM in response to Braby

That "bi-plane" is one of the first that actually could hook up wirelessly. The other was the original iBook G3. That said, getting it there requires a bit of forsight of what one may run into:

1. A PCMCIA card which has 802.11g is hard to find that also has Mac OS X drivers.

2. A wireless ethernet bridge can be attached to your built-in ethernet port with no extra drivers.