Want to highlight a helpful answer? Upvote!

Did someone help you, or did an answer or User Tip resolve your issue? Upvote by selecting the upvote arrow. Your feedback helps others! Learn more about when to upvote >

Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

Applescript or Automator to solve problem?

I've been a mac user now 2 years and never hopped on the forums until now.

I have a question that i'd love some insight on. I'll sum it up below and then give context to those who care to understand why i'm trying to figure this out.

QUESTION:

I need to automate an applicaiton to start and run on its own every morning, and if possible set it up to do the same routine weekly. I am not sure if apple script or automator is a better solution. Or if they are even able to do this and there is a beter solution.

CONTEXT:

I'm an artist, and i'm finding time being sucked away on various websites and applications (who isn't?). I am trying to content manage myself until things turn to habit. I find it easy to do in the real world with eating food for example. I just don't buy or have any bad food in my house. It took a while to do that, but the results are awesome. Now, software is a much different beast to control because of the great benefits. I found a nifty application I use called "SelfControl" which is awesome! However, I would like to automate its capabilities to start early AM and not give me the slightest chance at cheating the system. In fact, i'd love to automate it's capabilities throughout a week to be on a schedule.

I appreciate any and all advice.

MacBook Pro, Mac OS X (10.7.2)

Posted on Dec 14, 2011 9:41 AM

8 replies

Dec 17, 2011 11:15 PM in response to Slydude

Hi Slydude. In answer to your question, no i'm not looking to just launch an application. What I need is for it to launch AND run.

I will say that I found this: http://hints.macworld.com/article.php?story=20100801214648362