Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

Aperture and Plug In question

I am new to Macs and even newer to Aperture (former Lightroom user) and I decided to try - and purchase - the Nik software bundle.

So far really impressed - but now the question:

When you choose a photo to be edited with a plug-in, Aperture creates a TIFF file for the plug-in to work on.

Is there anyway to tell Aperture to create a PSD file - even an 8 bit PSD file - like I can set up when using PS Elements 10 as my "external editor"?

I only see the settings in Preferences to set up the one external editor - no settings (unless I am missing something) for the plug-ins.

Just because the TIFF files end up taking up a lot more room than PSD files do.

Thanks,

Steve

iMac, Mac OS X (10.7.1)

Posted on Dec 14, 2011 3:11 PM

7 replies

Dec 15, 2011 8:25 AM in response to Frank Caggiano

I realize that everyone here and in other forums are trying to help BUT it seems no one reads my post - I do have the external editor set for PSD/8 Bit - but that setting seems to have no effect on the way Aperture sends files to the various NIk plugins that I have. Those receive TIFF files, which for my purposes are not worth the hard drive space.

Thanks anyway, Steve

Dec 15, 2011 8:47 AM in response to swandy

You're original post was a long rambling account not really a question. I tried to dig out of it what you're problem was, sorry if I missed that fact .