Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

how many GB can you have as a boot drive on Macbook Pro os x lion

hi everyone, i'm gonna connect a 3 tb internal drive (3.5 inch) to my Macbook Pro 15 inch 2011 via sata data extension, and a external power source connected to the hdd. I'm still a high school student, so i barely take it out of my desk, so i want to tweak ita little, because desktop hdd are faster, and i don't want to waste 300< just for a ssd with barely storage. i'm planning to make 1 tb os x lion, 1 tb boot camp, and 1 tb time machine. if you want the links to what I bought ask me, btw which 3 tb is better wd, toshiba, etc?

MacBook Pro, Mac OS X (10.7.2), Macbook Pro 15 inch (Late 2011)

Posted on Dec 14, 2011 7:03 PM

20 replies

Dec 14, 2011 8:43 PM in response to ericksol96

Your idea of backing up your boot volume via Time Machine to another partition on the same disk is foolhardy. If the drive fails, as all drives do sooner or later, everything will be gone including the backup. You might as well not back up at all as leave yourself vulnerable to that disaster. Always use a separate disk for backup. If you do, you will also sidestep the knotty problem of creating a boot camp partition on a multi-partitioned drive, which Boot Camp Assistant really doesn't want to do.

Dec 15, 2011 3:08 AM in response to ericksol96

If you think you need 1.5TB for OSX, you should have a 3TB drive for Time Machine. But I suspect you don't really need 1.5 TB for either OSX or Windows, and could make do just fine with a pair of 1TB or 2TB drives, one internal and the other external for a TM backup of OSX. I don't see any merit in the idea of connecting a bare 3.5" drive externally to the hard drive bay in a MBP.

Dec 15, 2011 3:42 AM in response to ericksol96