Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

Gray Screen Now after Doing Nothing?

Last night I came home and checked Facebook and my email, then turned my monitor off - as I do normally. When I awoke this morning I find that my monitor isn't responding to when I turn it back on, and clicking the mouse or the keys does nothing as well.

So I do a full restart - turn the machine off, wait 10 seconds, turn it back on. When I do I get apple logo/start up screen, then it folds over with a darker gray and gives me the Gray Screen of Death message.

I've never had this show up before, ever. All I do on this machine is use the internet, play songs, and use Adobe CS3 with my Wacom. I have an external harddrive which I disconnected, along with my wacom and my scanner and printer, and still get the message.

I tried to safe boot (I'm new to all this) with command/shift/v - and see the DOS like boot message of my computer. Not sure if it helps but the last line it snagged at was

"AirPort: Link Up on en2"

then that was it, and it has sat there and done nothing. There are some other threads on the bootup that say "macuserinterface:failed to initialize communication. is the station plugged in?"

I guess I wouldn't be so freaked if I downloaded pirated software or done stupid things (because that's just asking for trouble), and maybe my harddrive has just bit the dust? I got this computer in Fall of 08 and have had no problems at all with it until now. I have an external harddrive that does an backup during the night, and that's the only thing besides my PixelBreaker screensaver that does stuff during the night on its own.

Any insight is appreciated... not even sure if I know where my OSX disc is at the moment, but I'll look for it in the meantime... TT^TT

Mac Pro & Macbook Pro 13" 3rd Gen, Mac OS X (10.5.7)

Posted on Dec 15, 2011 7:23 AM

10 replies

Dec 15, 2011 10:32 AM in response to MiddayDreamer