Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

How do I log in to a guest wifi network?

I am in hospital and trying to connect to the guest wifi network to gain Internet access. On my iPad and IPhone a landing page pops up so that I can log in. on my MacBook pro I do not get this landing page and so cannot log in to the network. I am new to MAC's and have no idea what to do to overcome this.

MacBook Pro, Mac OS X (10.7.2)

Posted on Dec 18, 2011 6:28 AM

13 replies

Dec 18, 2011 9:03 AM in response to vincentfromickenham

Are you sure you are actually connected to there WiFi network. Sorry I'm not at my Mac right now. You first need to check that you have an IP address from there network, System Settings, Network and then WiFi and check to see you have an IP address.

Never tried to connect to a open WiFi with the Mac but on a Windows PC when you first select the open network it Asks You something like "Are you Sure you want to connect to this open network" or "Connect anyway even if it may be a security risk".

Could be the WiFi card isn't really connecting to there open network. Could be a security setting you need to turn off, like maybe the firewall or at least configure it to allow this open WiFi connect to give you an IP address.

Dec 18, 2011 8:35 AM in response to vincentfromickenham

If safari is active, it can hang for a time while the network gets the TCP/IP stack configured. There might be some deadlock if Safari is trying to update RSS feeds or whatnot. Scan the taskbar with your mouse cursor to see what apps are up or command-tab to them and command-Q them to quit internet applications but for the most part the Wifi usually connects in a couple of seconds. If the guest network is open there usually isn't a prompt for information, the animation of the icon will stop and it will be black instead of grey when successfully connected.