11 Replies Latest reply: Dec 22, 2011 6:56 AM by léonie
carltonfrombedford Level 2 Level 2 (350 points)

I'm creating a photobook and i want the edges of the pictures that are on top of other pictures or black background to be blurred.  How would I do this?

Yes, I'm a novice.

iPhone 4S, Mac OS X (10.7.2)
  • 1. Re: blur the edges
    léonie Level 9 Level 9 (51,640 points)

I do not know of any option in Aperture that could do this.

Maybe one of the photobook plug-ins has such an option.

You can try to edit the edges of your images and make them transparent in an external editor like Photoshop.

• For this to work, e.g. in Photoshop, set the format for the external editor to "psd".
    • Open your image with Photoshop as external editor.
    • Then create a new, empty image with the same dimensions as your original image and set the background to "transparent".
    • Then select all of your image to be edited and past it onto the transparent backdrop in the new image.
    • In the new image again select all of the image, then go to the selection menu -> border and add a border of at least 10 pixels.
    • Again in the "selection" menu set "invert selection". Now your border shuold be selected.
    • Go "Selection"-> "Modify Selection" -> "Soft border". Set the border to a high value, e.g. 30.
    • Now clear the border "Edit" -> "clear"

By now your image should have a soft, blurred, transparent border.

Save the image.

In Aperture you now should see a version of your image with a blurred border. Add it to your book. I tried this with Photoshop CS5.

The image below shows two versions of the same image: to the left theoriginal, to the right a version with the lower border made transparent like described above.

Regards

Léonie

• 2. Re: blur the edges

One more try to add the screenshot:

softborder.png

• 3. Re: blur the edges
    shuttersp33d Level 4 Level 4 (1,540 points)