8 Replies Latest reply: Jun 16, 2015 3:06 AM by amryl Branched to a new discussion.
artfromthethornhill Level 1 Level 1

Ever since I updated the Apple operating system I keep getting the following popup itunesError message:


iTunes can't verify the identity of the server "s.mzstatic.com."

The certificate for this server is invalid. You might be connecting to a

server that is pretending to be "s.mzstatic.com.", which could put

your cinficential information at risk. Would you like to connect to

the server anyway?


What is this all about?

MacBook Pro, Mac OS X (10.5.8)
  • EarthManMarc Level 1 Level 1

    This is very annoying every time I open iTunes this stuppid little thing pops up...

  • dynapop Level 1 Level 1

    Yup this very same issue has started with me too. I updated to latest iTunes a few weeks back - first time I saw message was today. a whois shows that this s.mzstatci.com site is owned by Apple. The sites regestered here with the following contact details.


    Cupertino, CA 95014


    Telephone: +1.4089744286

    Fax: +1.4089744286



    I'm going to email Mr/Mrs/Miss Eddings for a responce to this discussion thread.


    I'll let you know how I get on



  • dynapop Level 1 Level 1

    Sent email 3 days ago no response - but the error message has gone away. 


    <Email Edited by Host>

  • ChiliDog66 Level 1 Level 1

    For the record, I'm getting this message too.  I'm posting here out of hopes Apple looks on these forums to gain points of action.  Apple-  chalk-up one more user affected by this issue.

  • ArtStart1 Level 1 Level 1

    If visitors here would spend 10 or 15 min doing some real homework, confusion and misinformation wouldn't clutter the Apple Discussions forum so much. Akamai Technologies is not owned by Apple. It's one of the largest, probably THE largest company world-wide in helping internet-tech related companies, generally large-to-medium size, ease the flow of network processes and content delivery. It's normal, and a good thing to see it listed on a network monitor, often not only with the term "akamai" interted, but "edgesuite" as well.

         And the main corporate office is not a neighbor to Apple in Cupertino  It's in Cambridge, Mass.


  • Donald Cole Level 1 Level 1

    no need to be so cranky. i don't understand it either. viruses/malware are new to me and i've had a difficult time trying to sort it out -- not to mention i don't have a ton of time to devote to it. a long time ago there wasn't as big a fear of these threats so please bear with us while we get it figured out. thank you.

  • Flab off Level 1 Level 1

    I've been getting this notice about s.mzstatic.com, and given your guidance that it's part of Apple's server network, I've told iTunes to continue connecting even though it says the server is not trusted.  Several more similar warnings followed, but I clicked continue to each.  I then got the notice of an iTunes update and clicked on that, but the App Store now says it cannot connect to the internet so I can't download any updates.  This is in spite of the fact that all my other internet apps are open and functioning -- Firefox, Outlook, etc.


    If the App Store can't connect, do you have any suggestions on how I can receive updates?



  • amryl Level 1 Level 1

    i am unable to use itunes to download a cd due to this same message.  what can i do to regain the use of itunes?