Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

invalid client_id and Mac OS X Lion Server

Hello I'm a newbie to servers so please try to be as basic and gentle as possible.

I setup up a Lion Server 10.7.2 on a mac mini and I enabled Open Directory. This is a server for my small office. We have 2 iMacs and 2 Macbook Pro's. I have set up mobile users and mobile log in. Things were going great until recently so I am not sure what happened.

The problem is only occuring on my personal macbook pro which is even more interesting. This happens when I am at home or in the office. I have a dedicated IP address and my own domain name, firm.xxxxx.com for the server. Well the router has a dedicated IP address and then I have DHCP set up but the server has a static internal IP address and port forwarding set up on the router for all of the relevant ports and services for when I am out of the office. I am able to browse the server's shared folders and save documents on the server, open them, etc from within the office and at home on the macbook pro. As I said, none of the other computers or users have this issue.

My "network account server" in the Users and Groups system's preference of the macbook has the green light. I am not using Active Directory as I am only in a pure Mac environment. I am an admin on the server and I have full priveleges on the server.

Now when my Home Sync does its thing I always get the error "Your home directory did not finish syncing because a problem occured. Please try again later" This does not occur when I log into one of the iMacs as myself.

The logs on the server say:

Dec 27 14:49:51 office AppleFileServer[351]: received message with invalid client_id 4995

Dec 27 14:49:51 office AppleFileServer[351]: received message with invalid client_id 4996

Dec 27 14:52:44 office fseventsd[68]: SLOWDOWN: client 0x7fdeba80a400 (pid 30) sleeping due to too many errors (num usleeps 46221)