Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

iTunes match and new iphone

Hello,

I'm an iTunes match newbie.. I just purchased a subscription and i'm still uploading unmatched songs.

I noticed a few things:

->When I activated iTunes match on my iphone, it deleted my library file and replaced it with itunes match. Now some songs are greyed out but without the icloud icon (maybe they haven't been uploaded yet from my mac?) while others I can play.

->iTunes on my mac, now says that I'm syncing my music on my iphone using iTunes Match. There's no option to copy the music over USB like we've always been able to.

So this brings about two questions:

1) When I add a new song to my library, will it be matched/uploaded if unmatched automatically to the iCloud and then onto my devices, or will I need to click on the icloud icon in my iPhone for each new song that I add?

2) What happens when I get a new iphone? since iTunes doesn't sync music directly to the iphone anymore, and it does so through the iCloud, will I have to download over my slow DSL connection all my music? isn't there a less painful way? More over, how on earth will I choose what songs to download on my iphone? I have thousands of songs If I have to click on the icloud icon for every singer/album that'd be slow.

thanks.

Posted on Dec 29, 2011 6:10 PM

1 reply

Dec 29, 2011 6:28 PM in response to Jose M Olaya

Jose M Olaya wrote:

->When I activated iTunes match on my iphone, it deleted my library file and replaced it with itunes match. Now some songs are greyed out but without the icloud icon (maybe they haven't been uploaded yet from my mac?) while others I can play.