Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

Trouble conforming PAL-(XDCAM EX 50fps) to 25fps in Cinema Tools

Sorry, new to the forums and not sure if this was posted in the correct place...

FCP 7

Macbook Pro 13"

Intel Duo Core 2.4 ghz with 4GB RAM

I shot some commercial stuff for a European client in PAL 1280x720 @50fps on a 7D and was told the best workflow was to xcode that footage into XDCAM EX 1280x720 50 (35mbps) THEN conform. However, I can't seem to conform the XDCAM EX 50fps clips to 25fps in Cinema Tools. I am still learning about alternate video formats and typically have a set workflow. I consulted a fellow of mine who has a lot of foreign clients and he did advise that conforming PAL to XDCAM EX is the best way to conserve quality and hard disk space through the edit process. Is this true? Am I missing a preference or setting in Cinema Tools? Do the files need to be Pro Res in order to be conformed? HALP!

The client is looking for some time remapping so I was hoping to do some progressive ramps in After Effects once I got everything to 25fps. Is there anything I need to know regarding output or rendering?

Any advice is appreciated, I didn't go to school for video so don't hate!

Cheers

Michael

Cinema Tools, Mac OS X (10.6.8)

Posted on Jan 3, 2012 9:47 AM

11 replies

Jan 3, 2012 10:29 AM in response to michaelhurleyvideo

>I shot some commercial stuff for a European client in PAL 1280x720 @50fps on a 7D and was told the best workflow was to xcode that footage into XDCAM EX 1280x720 50 (35mbps) THEN conform.