Want to highlight a helpful answer? Upvote!

Did someone help you, or did an answer or User Tip resolve your issue? Upvote by selecting the upvote arrow. Your feedback helps others! Learn more about when to upvote >

Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

From Logic to GarageBand '11

As a 4 year Mac user coming from Windows...I loved my Cakewalk Studio Software. That was the hardest thing to leave behind in Windows. When I made the switch, I tinkered in GarageBand but was told that LOGIC STUDIO was the way to go. So, I did my research and made the expensive plunge after a while. I have found myself so frustrated after taking online classes, buying the book, etc. It's just too @#$@# hard to learn and even moreso to use.

So I dusted off the Garageband again. Good thing for me is since I have Logic 9, I have all the Jam Packs. I'm not a pro musician and found myself resorting to GarageBand when Logic became overwhelming. Heck, I can turn GB into a quick karaoke box....not so with Logic. Still don't know how to do that in less than 50 clicks.

So any others out there who switched to GarageBand FROM Logic? Would love to hear your stories and what make GB work for you!

Posted on Jan 6, 2012 10:08 PM

Question marked as Best reply

Posted on Jan 7, 2012 1:16 PM

I had been on Windows for ages for recording, primarily using Tracktion and before that Cubase. When I got my Mac in 2008, I used GB for awhile until I could swing Logic 9. When I got it, I just didn't have the time to properly learn it; grad school, kids, work, etc. So I've gone back to GB, and love using it. I'm a guitar player, and this is all just a hobby, so GB fits perfectly for that.