Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

ARD Initial Setup Help

I have Mac Mini server running 10.6.8 with 131 Mac Book Pros running the same OS. We recently purchased Apple Remote Desktop 3.5.1 and I have it installed on the server. I cannot see any of the client Macs in ARD because Remote Management is turned off on all of them. Other than manually touching all 131 of them, is there a way from the server to turn them on?

I tried turning it on on one of the client Macs, copying the plist file to the server, then adding it to the Details tab of my test group in Workgroup Manager (which is setup and running fine), but my test Mac still has Remote Management turned off and I cannot connect to it from ARD.

Any help would be wonderful. Please be aware, I've been supporing Macs for 3 months now so I still have a lot to learn. Thanks

MacBook Pro, Mac OS X (10.6.8)

Posted on Jan 10, 2012 10:57 AM

4 replies

Jan 11, 2012 3:02 PM in response to Guinfan72

Hi

"Other than manually touching all 131 of them, is there a way from the server to turn them on?"

If you've enabled SSH (Remote Login in the Sharing Preferences Pane) you can use the kickstart utility to do enable Remote Management with whatever options you want:

http://support.apple.com/kb/HT2370

If you've not done this you've got some walking ahead of you.

What might be a possible 'better' option is to take one mac that has all the applications you want installed and is configured the way you want and enable Remote Management, 'Sys Prep' it prior to using SIU to create a NetRestore image. 'Push' this out to the rest using the NetBoot Service. Once you've renamed all the clients - you could use a login script that does this for you on the mac you create the NetRestore image from.

You can add all the clients to an ARD List by clicking the 'Observe' Icon. Simply supply the local admin name and password the once and that's it.

HTH?

Tony