Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

Deleting Pre Installed Mac Apps (Chess, etc.)

Hello all, I'm new to mac, but have alot of computer background and feel as if I'm learning my way around pretty well. I have a 13" Macbook Pro (Feb 2011) with OSX Lion.

My question is this - can I delete unneeded and unused applications that come pre installed with OSX Lion (Chess, Photo Booth, etc.)? I never have and know I never will use these, I know this because I have no clue how to play chess and could download a different chess game if I want it back. As for Photo Booth I have owned and worked on computers for around 10-11 years and never saved more than backgrounds or the occasional emailed picture to my computer, which are usually deleted within a few days. I guess I'm just not a picture guy. Lol. I've got facebook if I want to keep them around, and a iPhone to take pictures of myself with.

I have found how to delete them, by going to get info and changing the permissions to read and write, and actually did delete chess with no issues. However after a few minutes I chickened out and put it back from the trash can and fixed the permissions back the way they were.

Will deleting them cause future updates to fail?

Anyone else done this?

If I can do so, what apps are deff. DO NOT TOUCH applications? Any?

I don't plan on deleting things that have obvious system connections, like font book or dictionary, of course.

I don't mean to sound like a you-know-what but please don't reply if you haven't done this or don't know from past experience. I don't need nor want any "it could" or "it might" answers. Again, not to be a horses rear. 🙂 😝

Also this isn't a HD memory issue... it's a OCD issue. Lol. I just like keeping my computer neat and tidy and see no reason to waste HD space (even if it's a very small amount) on stuff I do not want or use.