Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

DNS Problem? Please Help!!

Hi Community Members,

I'm having a little issue with DNS and I was hoping one of you could help. I am a collage student just learning 10.6 Server and I decided to setup a MacMini as a home server to learn with benefiting the home network with the features OSX Server brings. My question is I have enabled DNS on my server in order to make OD, VPN and all the other core features work but I also have a Linksys WRT54GS router which also does some form of DNS and runs Tomato software.

The problem is I have to manually go into system proferences>network>click on both Ethernet and WiFi and manually add 192.168.1.206 which is the adress of my MacMini since it is doing DNS. This creates a conflict on my macbook pro when I connect other places because the internet won't work unless I remove the 192.168.1.206 address from the DNS section. Then when I get back home, I have to re-add the 192.168.1.206 adress back in for home sync and all that to work. I know when I connect at school the DNS automatically fills in and it is greyed out. Is there a way I can make my network do this. I would like it to add the Tomato DNS which is adress 192.168.1.1 and also the MacMini Server adress which is 192.168.1.206 so all my features will work automatically and I won't have to constantly mess with DNS settings everytime I go to and from school and other networks.

Thanks for your help in advance!

Mac OS X Snow Leopard Server-OTHER, Mac OS X (10.6.6), Snow Leopard Server

Posted on Jan 12, 2012 9:27 PM

Question marked as Best reply

Posted on Jan 13, 2012 8:49 AM

The basic problem here is that your client isn't automatically picking up the 192.168.1.206 server. That's a trivial issue.