Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

I'm new to Final Cut Pro X and I can't figure out how to fade to black?

I'm new to Final Cut Pro X and I'm trying to firgure out how to fade to black. How do I do it?

iMac, Mac OS X (10.7.2)

Posted on Jan 19, 2012 9:54 AM

Question marked as Best reply

Posted on Jan 19, 2012 10:27 AM

Use "Fade to color" transition

14 replies

Jan 19, 2012 1:51 PM in response to Tom Wolsky

An alternative way is to select the clip in the timeline, then press Ctrl+V to show Video Animation.

At the bottom of the list of options is Compositing: Opacity.

Click the dark rectangle on the right of this option and it opens up to show a black opacity bar immediately beneath the text. Mouse over the ends of this bar and some little handles appear at each end of the clip. You can grab these and adjust your fade precisely.

Sounds more complex than it is - when you get used to it.

I find it more flexible than adding preset transitions (which you inevitably need to adjust anyway).

Andy

Apr 6, 2015 3:05 AM in response to Tom Wolsky

This was a great conversation for me, Mr. Wolsky (almost exactly a year later) but I'd appreciate a step-by-step explanation

of an alternative to the control-v approach to fade-to-black - which worked well for me.

When I try to simply insert a Fade To Color transition between clips, FCP won't let me grab and widen it. I get red parentheses around the transition clip. I can't find anywhere in the Transition window how to expand the duration. Does the process involve using both a Cross Dissolve and a Fade To Color? Is Fade To Color a sub-option in Cross Dissolve? Can't figure this out.

Also, how can I drag a clip away to create an "empty space" and circumvent the snap setting.

Apr 6, 2015 3:38 PM in response to Tom Wolsky

Thank you for Opt-W!

"You have to shorten one or both shots to lengthen the space to overlap the shots during the transition."