Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

Can't unzip .zip files... (ERROR 2)

all the latest zip files I've downloaded can't be unzipped using the standard unzipper tool (Archive Utility). I keep getting error 2: no such file or directory. When I use "the Unzipper" I can unzip the content but the content is instead corrupted.

The same files works fine to download and unzipp for others. But if they are downloaded on their computer and then transferred to min using a usb stick the samething happens.

One of the files in question is the latest mercurial version for OSx 10.7 from http://mercurial.selenic.com/downloads/

I'm using the latest macbook pro with the i7 processor and osx 10.7.2 and I'm a beginner!

I'd appreciate any help!

Cheers

André

MacBook Pro (15-inch Late 2011), Mac OS X (10.7.2)

Posted on Jan 20, 2012 6:13 AM

27 replies

Jun 12, 2017 8:22 AM in response to cerpha

HI!
As AlanRom_said before. It's one of those problems with the Archive utility. Usually, in good unzipping applications, the app would see if the file is encrypted with a password and notify you and ask you the password, the finder version of the Archive Utility do a lame work on that. And, as it can't read the file, it just throw up the error you saw.

The solution AlanRom_ gave is good. But, if you don't have internet access (Oh, yes, it can happen.) or you don't want to download another program, OR YOU DONT WANT TO PAY 2,99! (It's a good program tough) you can unzip this encrypted files on the terminal:

1. Open terminal.
  2. Navigate to the folder where your encrypted zip is (Or just cd drag and drop the enclosing folder to the terminal window).
  3. Do the command unzip Mypasswordprotectedfile.zip (Or again, just drag and drop the file)
  4. You'll be prompted for your zip password, enter it (You won't be able to see it) and press enter.
  5. Enjoy your unzipped file.

User uploaded file

Cheers!