Want to highlight a helpful answer? Upvote!

Did someone help you, or did an answer or User Tip resolve your issue? Upvote by selecting the upvote arrow. Your feedback helps others! Learn more about when to upvote >

Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

How do I turn off Magic Mouse option-scroll zoom?

Hi, I've been using a Magic Mouse with Lion for a few months. Recently it's been driving me crazy when I use Adobe applications like Illustrator and try to copy something (option-drag) and it starts zooming in or out if I move my finger on the mouse surface ever so slightly. Is there a way to turn this off?

Posted on Jan 23, 2012 11:52 AM

13 replies

Oct 13, 2016 3:22 PM in response to thirteencentpinball

I found the answer from Chayemor on this website:

http://graphicdesign.stackexchange.com/questions/66129/how-i-deactivate-alt-scro ll-zoom-in-adobe-software-programs

Chayemor says:

So when Edit > Preferences > General > "Zoom with Scroll Wheel" is checked, then the Alt + scroll is disabled. But when you uncheck the option of "Zoom with Scroll Wheel", then Alt + scroll is enabled.

It still zooms when scrolling (without pushing Alt/Option), but it stops zooming when you have Alt/Option pushed at least.

Jan 23, 2012 1:27 PM in response to thirteencentpinball

Thanks to both of you. The Mouse preferences for Magic Mouse are a little different, but I tried the one in Universal Access. Unfortunately this seems to refer to the screen zoom (which I'm happy to turn off!) because it's still doing the same behaviour in Illustrator. Any other ideas? I wonder if this is application-centric though there aren't any preferences that I can find in Illustrator to change it. In Fireworks the behaviour happens when holding command, and doesn't appear to have preferences either.

Sep 30, 2013 2:48 PM in response to thirteencentpinball

Having the same issues in Illustrator.